Austerlitz Declaration

- 1. The Heads of Government of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Austria and the Slovak Republic - Prime Minister Bohuslav Sobotka, Federal Chancellor Werner Faymann, and Prime Minister Robert Fico - met in Slavkov u Brna on 29 January 2015. The purpose of this meeting was to launch a framework of strengthened co-operation in neighbourhood issues and European affairs, and in fostering growth and employment. The Prime Ministers also addressed the situation in Eastern Ukraine and the external challenges currently faced by all European Union Member States, including the fight against terrorism.
- 2. By establishing such co-operation, the Czech Republic, the Republic of Austria and the Slovak Republic will contribute to increased public awareness of common interests and to growing confidence in regional co-operation and European integration projects, particularly through the enhancement of people-to-people contact in the region.
- 3. To this end, the Heads of Government agreed to establish a new framework of mutual co-operation among the three countries and identified areas of cooperation as set out in the Work Plan. The Heads of Government have decided to meet to discuss the scope and focus of the Work Plan once a year.
- 4. The Heads of Government invite their respective relevant Ministers to ensure the follow-up in the agreed areas and their Ministers of Foreign Affairs to prepare the meetings of the Heads of Government.